BLOG MÁSTER SARA

Just another WordPress.com weblog

¿Qué relación encuentras entre estas 3 películas? febrero 27, 2008

Filed under: Uncategorized — spicazo @ 1:27 am

million-dollar-baby.pngsin-city.pngcon-faldas-y-a-lo-loco.png I have chosen three movies that apparently are totally different. The directors are diferents, the genres are different, the plots are different, the settings are diffenrent, the epoches are different…almost everything looks like different, but not in my opinion. For me these three movies have something in common that you are going to discover through this essay. Do you wanna stay longer with me?

 

The fisrt movie I would like to talk about is SOME LIKE IT HOT (1959). Have you wacth it? (if not, I recomend it to you). It’s a comedy, or a sex-comedy, directed by Billy Wilder and progatonized by Marilyn Monroe (it is said that she made her best performance in this movie), Tony Curtis and Jack Lemmon.

We can include Some Like it Hot inside of the FEMINISM movies where myths about women and feminity are showed. The sexual differences between women and men is the excuse to stretch one-joke into a two-hour film.

According to the plot we can say that two men have to play the role of two women because they are so desesperate to get a job and because they have to protect themselves from some gasgsters of Chicago. So they travel to Florida with an all-girl band compoused by comely and sexy girls. The problems, or in this case the funniest scenes, arrive when both men fall in love of Sugar, -character played by Marilyn Monroe-. Then they have to hold back their men impulses and arrange funny plans to seduce her  -because remember that now they are supposed girls-. In this obligation to hold back the impulses of a man are based most of the jokes. The jokes go up when a rich man fall totally in love of one of these men.

I really love the last scene when one of these transvestite men says to the man that is in love of him that he is a woman and his lover answer: “nobody is perfect”.Its cross-dressing humor keeps it only more and more up-to-date.

What I like of this movie it’s that, althoug it was made around 50 years ago, already it make you to have a really nice time while you are watching it.

This is a movie from 1959 and the photography is in white and black. 

 

About this last words, white and black, we are going to talk about now. Because the next movie is also in white and black, but this one is a movie more currently; quite more currently because it’s from the last year -2005-. It’s not usual to watch an actual  movie in white and black, so do you already know the movie I’m talking about?

 

It’s SIN CITY (2005) by Robert Rodriguez.  I really like the photography of this movie. I think that the shots and the camera movements are perfectly elaborated. Although the editing techniques are normal, the composition of the scenes impact you because most of the shots are not usual.

However I don’t really like the plot of this movie because it’s so irreal –tries to be like a comic- and with a lot of violence, and I prefer another kind of cinema as historic or classical movies. But here is the important, because although I don’t like irreal plots and so much violence, this movie attracts me.

I like this movie because the treatment is totally different. There are so much blood in this movie –and I think that if the blood appeared in  the real color, red, it would be almost a gore movie-, but here as you don’t see the red color of the blood, and original devices as colourer the blood in yellow are used, is not that much gore.

  Finally I’m going to put together some aspects that I said about the first and  second movie that I have been talking about: women and violence. Of this combination of terms results the last movie that we are going to discuss: MILLION DOLLAR BABY (2004).

It’s a powerful film where a courageous woman fights first against the male chauvinism to can practique boxing, and at the end  she fights against the life. But she finally dies. It’s a drama, directered by  Clint Eastwood, that shocked me a lot. I really can’t tell you why this movie cause me an special stir. Maybe it’s because of the particular state of mind that I had the day that I watched this movie.

 

 

To conclude I would like to tell you that you shouln’t say “I don’t want to watch that movie because I don’t like that kind of movies”, because you are wasting an opportunity to discover your possible favorite movie ever. I want you to know that we need to wacth even the cinema that we don’t like, to be sure that we really don’t like it.

 

 

Deja un comentario